Big Sky to play 16 game conference schedule

Big Sky Conference

The Big Sky announced a reduction in conference games next season in both men’s and women’s basketball to just 16 games.

The usual 20 game conference schedule has been reduced to just 16 games as a cost saving measure due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“This one-year adjustment to our conference basketball schedules is an appropriate measure that delivers significant cost savings to our member institutions while providing our basketball programs with more flexibility in their non-conĀ­ference scheduling,” Big Sky Commissioner Tom Wistrcill said.

He continued, “I applaud our schools’ leaders for striking the right balance between providing opportunities for our student-athletes to compete while recognizing the need to make changes for the upcoming year.”

The Big Sky consists of the following schools:

Eastern Washington, Northern Colorado, Montana, Montana State, Portland State, Northern Arizona, Southern Utah, Sacramento State, Weber State, Idaho and Idaho State.

Each school can decide whether it will replace the four fewer conference games in 2020-21 with non-conference matchups.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here