Big South postseason awards include Chandler Vaudrin as POY


The Big South Conference announced their postseason awards for the 2020-21 season.

The Winthrop Eagles were the class of the Big South Conference all throughout 2020-21 going 20-1 on the season so it should come as no surprise that they cleaned up at the postseason awards.

Chandler Vaudrin was named Big South Player of the Year. The senior guard from Uniontown, ON was one of just two players in the Big South to rank in the Top 12 in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals and was tied for first in assist/turnover ratio. Vaudrin averaged 12.3 points per game and was No.7 in the NCAA in assists with 6.7 per game.

Winthrop head coach Pat Kelsey was named Coach of the Year with Phlandrous Fleming Jr. from Charleston Southern being named Defensive Player of the Year along with Rayshon Harrison from Presbyterian as the Freshman of the Year.

First-Team All-Conference:

  • Chandler Vaudrin, G, R-Sr., Winthrop
  • Davion Warren, G/F, Sr., Hampton
  • Phlandrous Fleming Jr., G/F, Sr., Charleston Southern
  • John-Michael Wright, G, Soph., High Point
  • Jaheam Cornwall, G, Sr., Gardner-Webb

Second-Team All-Conference:

  • Cedric Henderson Jr., F, Jr., Campbell
  • Tajion Jones, G, R-Jr., UNC Asheville
  • Juan Munoz, G, R-Jr., Longwood
  • Rayshon Harrison, G, Fr., Presbyterian College
  • Jordan Whitfield, G, Sr., Campbell