Colgate’s Jordan Burns headlines Patriot League postseason awards

Photo courtesy of Colgate University.

The Patriot League announced their All-Conference selections and Player of the Year for the 2020-21 season.

Colgate’s Jordan Burns was named 2020-21 Patriot League Men’s Basketball Player of the Year presented by PenFed Credit Union.

The senior from San Antonio, TX led Colgate to an 11-1 record and is just the second player in league history to eclipse 1,600 points and 400 assists for his career. Burns also recently became the all-time leader in assists in Colgate history.

Navy Head Coach Ed DeChellis was named Coach of the Year after leading the Midshipmen to a 15-2 record.

Army junior guard Josh Caldwell was named Defensive Player of the Year after leading the league with 38 steals. American University freshman forward Johnny O’Neil was named Rookie of the Year after leading all conference freshmen in scoring with 10.6 points per game and 6.3 rebounds.

First-Team All-Patriot League:

  • Jamir Harris, American, Sr., G
  • Jordan Burns, Colgate, Sr., G
  • Justin Jaworski, Lafayette, Sr., G
  • Santi Aldama, Loyola Maryland, So., F
  • Cam Davis, Navy, Sr., G

Second-Team All-Patriot League:

  • Lonnie Grayson, Army West Point, Sr., G
  • Javante McCoy, Boston University, Sr., G
  • Nelly Cummings, Colgate, Jr., G
  • Austin Butler, Holy Cross, Sr., G
  • E.J. Stephens, Lafayette, Sr., G