Patriot League postseason awards topped by Boston U’s Mathon

Photo courtesy of Boston University.

Sukhmail Mathon from Boston University headlines the 2021-22 Patriot League postseason awards.

Boston University 6-foot-10 forward Sukhmail Mathon has been named the 2021-22 Patriot League Men’s Basketball Player of the Year.

Mathon averaged 15.1 points per game while leading the conference in rebounds with 10.3 per game (12th nationally). Boston is 20-11 on the season and next face Loyola Maryland in the conference tournament on Thursday March 3.

Army senior guard Josh Caldwell was named Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year for the second season in a row after averaging 2.1 steals per game (had 19 multi-steal games). Holy Cross freshman guard Kyrell Luc was named Rookie of the Year honors after leading all freshmen in scoring with 13 points per game.

Navy’s Ed DeChellis was named Coach of the Year.

The Patriot League All-Conference Teams for 2021-22:

First-Team All-Patriot League:

Sukhmail Mathon, Boston University, Gr., F

Javante McCoy, Boston University, Gr., G

Nelly Cummings, Colgate, Sr., G

Tucker Richardson, Colgate, Sr., G

Cam Spencer, Loyola Maryland, Jr., G

Second-Team All-Patriot League:

Jalen Rucker, Army West Point, So., G

Andrew Funk, Bucknell, Sr., G

Gerrale Gates, Holy Cross, Sr., F

Neal Quinn, Lafayette, Jr., C

John Carter Jr., Navy, Sr., G

Third-Team All-Patriot League:

Stacy Beckton Jr., American, Sr., G

Walter Whyte, Boston University, Sr., F

Keegan Records, Colgate, Jr., F

Nic Lynch, Lehigh, Sr., C

Evan Taylor, Lehigh, Jr., G